Shaken and Stirred

Lets pretend like Im not at all worried of the fact that my life could completely change in the next 30 seconds through a few shakes and quakes. Lets pretend I have an amazingly detailed plan of action, with everything I would ever need to survive neatly organized into a high density polymer barrel and a go-bag. In fact, my neighbors are all just as equally prepared- we have a community response plan, shelter locations determined, food and water stocks securely stored. All people that I talk to know that being prepared could tip the scales in your favor. My government has an insanely detailed disaster response plan as well, it knows exactly how to respond to natural disasters and has ensured that the manpower and equipment needed for such responses is not centrally located and can be accessed by anyone anywhere in the country with great ease. Lets act like I have no trouble falling asleep, that I never imagine the ground collapsing underneath my feet, I’m not clastrophobic, and that the slightest vibrations do not freak me out bye bye clubs with wonderful bass 😦 We’ll pretend that despite my young age, I have already acheieved so much, touched so many hearts, and have had such an incredible impact in the world that I could die a happy man.

Lets carry on living like tomorrow will always come, that the worst has passed, and that disaster will strike home when we’re not so close to it. let’s hope the plates underneath western nepal do not release their 300 years of built up stress on this poor bastard while he’s in nepalgunj pretending to save the world

Seriously though, I am quite annoyed with the fact that noone seems to be running around frantically passing disaster preparedness legislature, or even initiating a public dialogue on the elements of preparedness. People can come together at the snap of a finger to repaint a brigde or a temple and say its for the betterment of Nepal, yet when it comes to matters like this…havent heard even a whisper… am i tuned into the wrong channels?


whats itching in your mind?